RSS

Friday Featured Product: ~ Sweet Hour of Prayer CD ~

24 Sep

Are you ready for another CD review from Discovery House?  This cd, “Sweet Hour of Prayer“, is perfect for those that enjoy setting aside quiet time to reflect and pray.  It is a classical ensemble with devotional readings from Oswald Chambers, author of “My Utmost for His Highest”.

The cd layout consists of 13 hymns and songs, such as Sweet Hour of Prayer and Just a Closer Walk with Thee, soothingly played by the Wildwood Chamber Orchestra.  While these songs play in the background, Chambers tells of ways we (the listeners) can reflect upon our day, use prayer, and find a purpose to pray during this quiet time.

Sweet Hour of Prayer cd

I personally did not like this cd as much as the ones I had the priviledge of reviewing in past blog posts (see these posts listed on the Friday Featured Product/Giveaways page), only because I don’t set aside “prayer time” during the day.  I would, however, listen to this cd while reading my Bible or just to have as soothing background music if it didn’t have the Oswald readings – I actually find them a bit distracting, especially when I am enjoying a particular song. However, if you are the type of person who enjoys having your quiet time to reflect and pray and finds listening to someone make suggestions on how to use your prayer time, then this is a cd a would recommend for you! 

 

With that being said, I would still give Sweet Hour of Prayer a good rating, and would recommend it to church prayer groups or adult Bible study classes that have prayer time or reflective time during their sessions.  And if you are a fan of Oswald Chambers, then I would add this cd to your collection as well.  If you would like to check out sample tracks from this cd, visit this link from Discovery House Music!  I hope this review was helpful!

 

Disclosure: Please note that I was only given a copy of this product in exchange for a review on my blog. This post reflects my own opinion about the item/product mentioned and was in no way influenced by the company I received the item from.
 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
