RSS

Friday Featured Product! ~ “Stand Up! Big Band Praise” CD ~

10 Jun

This Friday Featured Product is a cd I received from Discovery House Publishers & Music entitled: “Stand Up! Big Band Praise”.   Anne B., one of the interns at Discovery House, contacted me to see if I would be interested in reviewing music/cd’s, having seen my numerous book review posts on Heartfelt Home Creations blog, and I gladly accepted. 

 

The motto at Discovery House is “Feeding the Soul with the Word of God”. After listening to the Stand Up!cd and browsing through the lists of books, music, video, audio, greeting cards, among other products,  I would have to agree that they do just that.  The company, located in Grand Rapids, MI, has been around for over 20 years and I believe they’ll be around for quite a few more!

"Stand Up! Big Band Praise" cd

 

Now, about the cd.  Stand Up! Big Band Praise by Phillip Keveren  is made up of 12 tracks of hymns and praise songs and features the Swing Low Praise Band.   Each song takes you back to the big band era, and the upbeat swing music is sure to put a spring in your step.  Each instrumental has a clear sound and has a relaxing or energetic tone, depending on the song.  My favorites (being a lover of the more traditional hymns) are Just a Closer Walk with Thee, What a Friend We Have in Jesus, and Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho (which somewhat reminds me of the old instrumental Pink Panther theme).  Some of the other tunes that I was not familiar with, such as All Creatures of Our God and King and Indescribable,  were also ones I enjoyed listening to. 

 

I’ll admit, I was a little unsure on whether or not I would enjoy listening to an all instrumental cd of some of my favorite hymns, especially played by a swing band.  Being the type to enjoy most forms of music as well as always being on the lookout for something new,  I’m glad I took the opportunity to review Stand Up! Big Band Praise!  I’ve listened to it every day since I received it three days ago and plan on doing so for many more to come.  It’s great music to do housework to, or have playing in the background while I work on my crafting or blogging projects (I’m listening to it right now in fact while I write this post!).  Plus the facts that the cd is enjoyed by my 3-year-old and allows me to bring more of God’s praise through music into my home are just a few added bonuses!

 

As far as the quality and overall appearance of the product itself, I can only give positive feedback.  My cd arrived without so much as a tiny scratch on the cd casing.  The sound quality of the cd, as mentioned before, was clean and clear.  I also think the simple design, print, and color choices for the cd and accompanying literature were effective.  They’re easy-to-read print and layout makes it easy for any consumer to see exactly what the cd contains without a lot of distracting “fluff”. 

 

If you or someone you know would like to check out more of what Discovery House has to offer, visit their website here.  There you will also find links to follow Discovery House on Facebook here and Twitter here.  If you happen to connect with them or visit their site, let me know! Or, let them know that Vanessa from Heartfelt Home Creations sent you!  I hope this product review was helpful!

 

Please note: I was in no way compensated for writing this product review.  I was only given the above  mentioned cd and asked by Discovery House Publishing & Music to write a review, whether positive or negative,  that expressed my honest opinion on their product.
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Friday Featured Product! ~ “Stand Up! Big Band Praise” CD ~

Leave a Reply

 
