RSS

Book Review: Paradise Valley

03 Jun

Here is another book I recommend to all of my fellow readers out there, especially those of you who (like myself) are fans of Amish fiction.  If I were you, I would definitely add Dale Cramer’s Paradise Valley to your summer reading list!! I couldn’t agree more with New York Times bestselling author Beverly Lewis when she says, “If you like Amish fiction, you’ll love this book!”

Paradise Valley - by: Dale Cramer

 

Set in the 1920’s, Paradise Valley is a great example of historical fiction, having been inspired by actual events with the historical context of the novel being fairly accurate.   The story begins with the arrest of 5 Amish fathers for violating the Bing Act of 1921.  From this point forward Cramer’s characters — the Bender family — come to life through the eyes of 15-year-old Rachel, one of Caleb Bender’s daughters.  I encourage you to follow the journey of Rachel and her family as they move to Mexico to start a new life in a place where the American government cannot interfere with their Amish way of life.  They are faced with many trials and tribulations throughout their journey and their attempts to begin life in their new home, Paradise Valley.  See how they draw upon their faith and keep to “their ways” as temptation, hard times, and risky encounters with bandits threaten their new start. 

 

I hope you take the time to look this book up at your local library or book store!! I thoroughly enjoyed it, and if you enjoy Amish fiction as much as I do, then I know you will too!!  Happy reading!!

 

Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 3, 2011 in Blogging, Book Nook, WAHM

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Book Review: Paradise Valley

Leave a Reply

 
