RSS

Yard Sale Treasures

14 May

Today was the town-wide community yard sale in the neighboring town — an event that is not to be missed by any “yard salers”!  Rain clouds threatened overhead as my friend and I made our way from yard to yard, searching for that great bargain.  And Wow! Did I!!

Wooden Crate filled with Yard Sale Treasures

For less than $6 ($5.75 to be exact),  I managed to find some good items:  a wooden crate, a large hard plastic basket made to look like wood,  a large grapevine wreath, a broom waiting to be decorated and hung on my front door, a basket (similar ones cost at least $5 retail), 2 small grapevine wreaths, and 2 ceramic pumpkin ornaments.   All items I plan on repurposing and either using as storage containers for household items, or revamping and using as some home decor after adding my own personal touch to it.  If I were to get these items at a local craft store, it would have easily cost me a total of … at least $20.00! 

And that’s not all!!!!  Toward the end of the day, I went back to see if some items I had my eye on were still around, and boy am I glad I went back!!  I happened upon family with a yard filled with all kinds of boxes and bins of stuff with the announcement that EVERYTHING but the plastic containers items were placed in was FREE!!  I couldn’t believe my ears! Upon closer inspection of the contents of the boxes and bins ….. well, let’s just say that wooden crate I had purchased from another yard sale today ended up becoming completely filled with treasures that many crafters like myself would appreciate!  AND  yet there’s more!  At 2 other locations I found more goodies:  a large, 3 drawer plastic container I plan on using to store my crafting supplies in, and a wooden chair in great shape that I plan on cleaning up, painting black, reupholstering the seat and using as my new chair for my crafting desk — both for FREE!!

Free Chair to be redone!

 

So, yep! I would say I made out pretty well today, wouldn’t you?  Just a few reasons why it doesn’t hurt to browse around at some yard sales.  After all, “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure”!  Happy “yard saling” !  🙂

Free Drawer Unit and a Large Plastic Basket

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Yard Sale Treasures

  1. Jodi Suszynski

    May 16, 2011 at 7:07 AM

    Hi there, just stumbled on your page from stumbleupon. This isn’t not an article I would typically read, but I liked your thoughts on it. Thanks for making an article worth reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
