RSS

Book Review: The Final Summit

12 Apr

Even though I have not had the chance to read Andy Andrews’ first book, The Traveler’s Gift, this did not inhibit my ability to enjoy and really get into reading The Final Summit.  Here is a brief summary:

“David Ponder is back. This time the fate of mankind is in his hands.

The Final Summit - by: Andy Andrews

This is mankind’s last chance. Centuries of greed, pride, and hate have sent humanity hurtling toward disaster, and far from its original purpose. There is only one solution that can reset the compass and right the ship, and it consists of only two words. With time running out, it is up to David Ponder and a cast of history’s best and brightest minds to uncover this solution before it is too late. The catch? They are allowed only five tries to discover the answer.

Readers first encounter David Ponder in the New York Times bestseller The Traveler’s Gift. Now, in The Final Summit, Andrews combines a riveting narrative with astounding history in order to show us the one thing we must do when we don’t know what to do.”

There are a few things I enjoyed about this book. First of all, I liked Andrews’ writing style: easy to read, flowing, and captivating.   I also enjoyed his use and portrayal of the historical characters he chose to help David Ponder complete his task.  Andrews did not go into great detail or any over-embellishments when describing each character’s purpose or background, which I found helped the story to move along more quickly — he stuck to the main plot and Ponder’s (and the Summit’s)  job at hand.  Andrews keeps the reader guessing and thinking along with Ponder and the rest of the Summit, as well as thinking about the state of humanity in our world today. 

If you are into problem solving, history, and/or Christian fiction then I recommend this book to you.  It is a quick read (it only took me a few days during my “down time”), and one that will hopefully keep you interested, as it did me.  I know I’ll be adding Andrews’ other books to my “to read” list.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in Book Nook

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
