RSS

Book Review: Lilly’s Wedding Quilt

21 Mar

Lilly's Wedding Quilt - by Kelly Long

My latest book  to review only confirmed that I have a new favorite genre of fiction to add to my “favorite reads” list!  Lilly’s Wedding Quilt  is an Amish fiction novel written by Kelly Long.  I didn’t realize when selecting this book to review that it was the 2nd book in the Patch of Heaven series, but I assure you I will be going back to read Book 1: Sarah’s Garden as soon as I am able, as well as the next book in the series when it comes out.  In the meantime, let me share more about Lilly’s Wedding Quilt.

The following is a brief description that was given about the book:

She isn’t looking for love. He’s mending a broken heart. It will take divine intervention for these two to get together. Local Amish schoolteacher Lilly Lapp is tired of weddings, afraid of horses, and immersed in caring for her depressed mother. But when Jacob Wyse, a handsome horse breeder from her small community rescues her from a dangerous accident, Lilly discovers a renewed interest in life and the possibility of love.  Yet Jacob has lost the one true love of his life to another man and doesn’t care to expose himself to the vulnerabilities of loving again.

God works to bring this unlikely pair into a sweet romance to produce a pattern of faith, which leads to the creation and comfort of Lilly’s Wedding Quilt.

What I think about it:

I enjoy reading a book that I can get into right away, and Kelly Long’s writing style and storyline helped me to do just that.  I was eager to find out more about each character’s personality and traits as the story unfolded.  Plus it was an added bonus to learn about the little tidbits of Amish living and customs, as well as bits of Pennsylvania Dutch words and phrases that Long slipped into the characters’ thoughts and conversations, making the story all the more “real” and true to its inspiration.  As you read the story, you can easily find yourself sharing in Lilly’s and Jacob’s feelings of frustration when faced with another personal and marital barrier, as well as excitement and accomplishment when they make another step forward in growing together as husband and wife.  I also find it heartwarming and encouraging how they turn to God as new events, both good and unpleasant, pop up along their journey.   It brings to mind that God gives purpose and meaning to things even when we, or in this case Lilly and Jacob, don’t understand why right away.

Would I recommend this book to friends and fellow readers? Absolutely! As I mention before, I plan on reading Sarah’s Garden as soon as I am able and look forward to adding similar Amish fiction books to my to-read list.  Thanks to this book, Kelly Long will be added to my list of favorite Christian authors for sure!!  If you happen to pick up a copy of Lilly’s Wedding Quilt, I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 21, 2011 in Book Nook

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Book Review: Lilly’s Wedding Quilt

Leave a Reply

 
