RSS

Book Review: The Jesus Inquest

26 Feb

Recently I was given a copy of the book, The Jesus Inquest: The Case For and Against the Resurrection of the Christ, for review. This book, written by Charles Foster, presents the arguments for and against the resurrection of Jesus Christ. 

The Jesus Inquest by Charles Foster

Foster explores various topics that have been researched by historians and theologians alike through the years in a debate-like format.  In each chapter, Foster gives responses to the topics and questions in a Christian (presented by Y) and a non-Christian (presented by X) view.  The format resembles a debate you may encounter if this was presented in a court room setting.  Based on the information and references presented in this book, it appears as though this Christian author “did his homework” before writing this book.

Due to the format/layout of this book, I found it rather difficult to stay focused and interested in it.  As a Christian, it was interesting to see what ways some might try to prove that the resurrection never happened or why it might be considered by some people to be “made up”.   However, for a person like myself who enjoys reading for pleasure, I was disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, overall I thought the book was well-written! However, I felt like I was reading the book so that I could join in on a discussion at a college course on Christian theological topics or controversial topics found in religion.  I do commend Foster for keeping an unbiased position when presenting facts and theories for or against the topics mentioned in the book, but I was also “turned off” by the textbook-like format it was given in.  For me, it was a hard book to read cover-to-cover. 

If you are looking for a book that gives information you can use in order to argue for or against that the Resurrection of Jesus Christ did indeed happen, then this is a book I would suggest referring to.  If you are not a text-book kind of reader, as I am not as far as reading for pleasure goes, then I would recommend choosing another book to read. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

If you would like to see more book reviews that I have posted, please visit the Book Nook page on my Heartfelt Home Creations blog.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
