RSS

Bible in 90 Days: Week 1 Verses

15 Jan

I’ve been wanting to share this post with you for the past couple of days now, and this morning I finally get to do just that!  For those of you who missed my post that describes how I got into the Reading the Bible in 90 Days Challenge and what it’s all about, you can check that out here.   And now, to continue with this post! 🙂

B90Days Heartfelt Home Creations

 

Even though I was not able to read through each required daily section (believe me, it’s a lot harder to schedule in enough time to read and journal about each section than it appears — especially when there are household chores and a very active 2-year-old running around 😉 ),  I have been able to read everyday and make a SOAP journal entry after each reading.  I won’t post all of my SOAP entries on here, but I will share with you all of the verses from the readings that caught my attention.  Here are my verses for Week 1 of the B90Days readings:

Day 1: Genesis 1:1- 16:16    “I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.” ~ Genesis 9:13 (NIV)

Day 2: Genesis 17:1- 28:19  “I am with you and will watch over you wherever you go, and I will bring you back to this land. I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.” ~ Genesis 28:15 (NIV)

Day 3: Genesis 28:20- 40:11  Please accept the present that was brought to you, for God has been gracious to me and I have all I need. ~Genesis 33:11 (NIV)

Day 4: Genesis 40:12- 50:26  “I cannot do it,” Joseph replied to Pharaoh, “but God will give Pharaoh the answer he desires.” ~ Genesis 41:16 (NIV)

Day 5: Exodus 1:1- 15:18  The Lord is my strength and my song; he has become my Salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.” ~ Exodus 15:2 (NIV)

Day 6: Exodus 15:19- 28:43 The Lord said to Moses, “Come up to me on the mountain and stay here, and I will give you the tablets of stone, with the law and commands I have written for their instruction.” ~Exodus 24:12 (NIV)

Day 7: Exodus 29:1 – 40:38  “Remember you servants Abraham, Isaac and Israel, to whom you swore by your own self: ‘I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and I will give your descendants all this land I promised them, and it will be their inheritance forever.’ ” ~Exodus 32:13 (NIV)

When  journaling each scripture, I recorded an observation, an application and a prayer that reflects how I felt about that verse and why it caught my attention (this is how the SOAP method works).  By doing this, I found it helped me focus even more on my reading and that I learned even more about God’s word.  

I’m looking forward to sharing with you my next set of favorite verses from Week 2’s readings!  Look for another post within the next few days!  Enjoy your Bible readings and study time with God!  Blessings for a wonderful day!!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2011 in Book Nook

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
