RSS

~* Recipe of the Week*~

10 Jan

~* Homemade Split Pea Soup*~

 

Here is another one of my homemade soup recipes that you can cook up and enjoy during those snowy afternoons/evenings!  I hope you enjoy my homemade split pea soup recipe!  (It’s another one of my favorites from my childhood 😉 )

HHC Recipe of the Week

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of split peas (you can find them in the dry foods section of the grocery store, usually near the beans)
  • 4-6 cups water
  • 2 – 3 carrots chopped (about a half of a bag of baby carrots work just as well)
  • 1- 2 potatoes diced into cubes (preferably w/out skins)
  • 1/4 chopped onion
  • 1 lb cooked ham chopped into small “chunks” (I like using the leftovers from our Christmas ham!)
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

Preparation and Cooking:

  1. Add split peas to a soup pot filled with 4-6 cups of hot water.  **Follow directions given on the split peas packaging. The kind I used today had me cook the peas in the water at a medium temperature for 20-30 minutes. Some brands ask you to soak the peas in the water for a period of time before cooking them. 
  2. After the peas are cooked, dump the peas into a strainer in order to drain out the water. Then return peas to pot.
  3. Add 4-6 cups of fresh water to the pot of peas (this can be done now, or you can add the water after all of the ingredients are added to the peas. I like to wait until after all of the ingredients are added that way I can make sure I don’t have too “watery” of a soup base. I like my pea soup to be on the thicker side.)
  4. Add carrots, onion, potatoes, and ham pieces to the peas.  Add salt and/or pepper  to taste.
  5. Add more water if needed.  I make sure there is enough water in the pot to cover all of the  ingredients. This assures that the potatoes and carrots and onions will be cooked thoroughly.
  6. Bring soup to a boil. Then, stirring occasionally, cover and cook for 1-2 hours until peas break down and make a nice, creamy broth, and the carrots and potatoes are soft.
  7. Remove from heat and let sit covered for a minute or 2 so the broth gets a chance to thicken a little more.
  8. Serve as a meal or as a side. I enjoy mine with a few slices of buttered bread!! 🙂

I hope you enjoy this recipe. This soup, along with many others, is one my mother used to make for my brother and I on winter afternoons when we were growing up.  This is also a good recipe to cook up in a crock pot!  Enjoy!!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 10, 2011 in Recipe of the Week

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “~* Recipe of the Week*~

  1. ElizabethO

    January 10, 2011 at 8:42 PM

    Thanks for sharing, sounds yummy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
