RSS

Book Review: The Christmas Sweater

16 Nov

I am VERY excited to share this book with you!! Not only because it is fitting due to the fact that Christmas is just around the corner, but most importantly because of the message  behind it!!

     Ever since it’s release, I have wanted to read and add “The Christmas Sweater” by Glenn Beck to my home library, and let me just say that I was not disappointed! This book as everything in it from heart-wrenching sadness and joy, to episodes and events that that promote thought and personal reflection in self and Faith. Each of the character’s in Glenn’s book are so well thought out and portrayed in the story, each a reflection of “characters” we are likely to find in our own lives as well as in ourselves. What a truly magical and wonderful story to read during the Christmas season as well as anytime throughout the year!  It’s amazing how a sweater and the events and people surrounding it can cause a person to have so much reflection. I’m sure many of us have (or have had) a special home-made gift with a similar special meaning as Eddie learns his sweater has. No, this is not a story about a magical sweater by any means, but instead I choose to use the word “magical” in the sense of what it represents in the story.   The message on the inside of the book jacket says it best: “Glenn Beck delivers an instant holiday classic about boyhood memories, wrenching life lessons, and the true meaning of the gifts we give to one another in love.” ~ New York Times

So, this holiday season, or any time during the course of the year for that matter, I encourage you to read this book! And if you have read it already, think about sharing it with a friend! I know I am!

* There is also a children’s picture book of the same title by Glenn Beck that is based on this book. I’m hoping to get this at some point to read to my son.

** Please note, I was in no way influenced by Glenn Beck, Simon and Schuster Inc., or anyone else when writing this book review. I wrote this review based on my own opinions, beliefs, and thoughts after reading this book that was purchased for me by my husband as a gift.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Book Nook, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
