RSS

~* Recipe of the Week *~

10 Nov

Stuffed Pork Chops

(Thank you to my Grandma, Mrs. M. Fedak, for passing down this family recipe to me! )

This recipe is one that my family thoroughly enjoys every New Year’s Day dinner! My grandmother (my Dad’s mother) has prepared this dish along with many others for our family to eat every New Year’s Day for as long as I can remember.  She gave me this recipe as a gift (along with many other cherished family recipes) the year my husband and I were married.  As requested by many of my friends and blog readers, I am finally sharing this recipe with you. I hope you enjoy it as much as my family does!!

Cook Time: 1- 1 and 1/2 Hours

Oven: 350 degrees

Serves 2-4 (depending on how many pork chop “sandwiches” a person eats)

As I write this recipe, I will post it in sections according to how my Grandmother has it written. Please keep in mind that she had to write it from memory, as most recipes she knows are not written down, but rather were passed down through the family by showing and doing. I would suggest reading the entire recipe through before starting the cooking process.

Stuffing

Ingredients:

  • 6 slices white bread (toasted)
  • chopped parsley, 1/2 yellow onion, 2-3 stalks celery
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 packet poultry seasoning
  • chicken broth (I save and frreeze extra chicken broth from my homemade chicken soups, but you can use 1-2 eight ounce cans if desired)
  • 1 stick margarine or butter

Preparation:

  1. Saute celery, onion in 1 stick margarine.
  2. Take bread that’s been toasted in your hands under cool running water, squeeze excess off.
  3. Put in bowl, add celery and onion mixture and parsley.
  4. Add eggs, little salt and pepper and mix together.
  5. Add poultry (little) seasoning.
  6. Mix together in bowl with hands.

Pork Chops

Ingredients:

  • 4- 8 regular or boneless pork chops
  • sage
  • salt and pepper
  1. Take pork chop, run under cold running water to wash off, pat dry.
  2. Add a little salt and pepper rubbed in to each side of pork chop.
  3. Do the same to 2nd pork chop.
  4. Then put little stuffing between 2 chops.
  5. Rub sage on outside of each chop.
  6. In flat frying pan, brown each side of pork chop “sandwich” in pan lightly (until meat is cooked through), then place in pan (I use a glass baking dish).
  7. Pour 1 cup of chicken broth over top of chops in pan. (Chicken broth can be made by 1 cup water boiled and 1 envelope chicken broth seasoning in it.)
  8. Cover and let bake in oven for about 45 minutes. (After about 1/2 hour, check to make sure there’s some  liquid in pan, add more if needed to keep pork chop sandwiches moist.)

* For stuffing, you can always add more bread if it has too much moisture. You don’t want it to be too loose of a mixture.

And there you have it. My Grandma Fedak’s stuffed pork chop recipe!

The other year, my grandmother couldn’t make our traditional meal on New Year’s Day because my grandfather was having health problems at the time. I took on the task of making this dish along with all of the other pork dishes and such that my grandmother usually prepares, and served it to my parents. I also made sure to save some and deliver a couple of plates to my grandparents. My grandmother later called (and my father agreed) that I had successfully made the meal and that she was so delighted that I can carry on the family tradition when the day comes that she is no longer able. No greater complament could have been given to me! Thank you, Grandma, for this and my other recipes!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2010 in Recipe of the Week

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “~* Recipe of the Week *~

  1. MariLee

    November 10, 2010 at 9:19 PM

    THanks for sharing, Vanessa!!! YUM!

     
    • heartfelthomecreations

      November 10, 2010 at 9:23 PM

      Sure thing! Let me know how they turn out when you get the chance to try out the recipe! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
