RSS

~* Recipe of the Week *~

09 Aug

The other week, I was in the mood to munch on some cookies, but with the lack of bountiful ingredients and a lack of a car for the day, I didn’t have many options. So….I pulled out my old faithful — Betty Crocker’s Picture Cook Book (1950 General Mills, Inc.)– and found the following recipe:

Brown Sugar Drops
“Soft, chewy, Wonderful brown sugar flavor.”

Temperature: 400 degrees F (mod. hot oven)
Bake time: 8 to 10 minutes
Amount: About 6 dozen 2 1/2″ cookies.

Ingredients:
1 cup soft shortening
2 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup sour milk or buttermilk (I used whole white milk)
3 1/2 cups sifted Gold Medal flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt

Preparation:
In a large mixing bowl:
1.) Mix together thoroughly shortening, brown sugar and eggs.
2.) Stir in milk.
3.) Sift together and stir in the remaining ingredients.
4.) Cover bowl with plastic wrap and chill in refrigerator for at least 1 hour.

5.) On a lightly greased baking sheet, drop rounded teaspoonfuls of dough about 2″ apart (*Definitely spread these out because they flatten out and puff up a lot. My 1st batch ended up being one big brown sugar cookie on my baking sheet!)
6.) Bake until set… just until, when touched lightly with finger, almost no imprint remains.

 

Serve with a cup of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, or a glass of milk and enjoy!!! My 2-year-old seems to enjoy them!! 🙂

Also, if you do like this recipe, don’t be afraid to “Like” this post and/or leave a comment so that I may know what my blog readers enjoy and so that I may write many more enjoyable posts in the future! Happy cooking!!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

*Please note: I was not in any way influenced or persuaded by General Mills, Inc. or any other company to use the cook book and products mentioned in this blog post. This is just a recipe I refer to for these particular type of cookies and that my family enjoys. Also, please note that I am not liable for any allergic reactions or illnesses that one might encounter when preparing or consuming the food made with this recipe. Please contact your family physician or the manufacturer of the products used if a problem does occur.

 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
